British Academy Television Awards 2013: The Results

HomeEntertainmentBritish Academy Television Awards 2013: The Results
British Academy Television Awards 2013: The Results

The 2013 British Academy Television Awards took place this evening, with coverage on BBC One.

Graham Norton hosted the annual ceremony celebrating the best of British TV from London’s Royal Festival Hall.

Among the winners were Sheridan Smith, Made In Chelsea, Twenty Twelve, EastEnders, Last Tango In Halifax, Game of Thrones, Room At The Top, and the 2012 Paralympics.

Olympics and Paralympics presenter, Clare Balding, picked up the Special award for her ‘Outstanding Achievement in Factual Presenting’.

Balding said: “I am in complete shock, I can’t believe I’ve been given such an extraordinary honour and I am totally delighted.”

The results are as follows:

Leading actor
Winner: Ben Whishaw – Richard II (The Hollow Crown)
Derek Jacobi – Last Tango In Halifax
Sean Bean – Accused (Tracie’s Story)
Toby Jones – The Girl

Leading actress
Winner: Sheridan Smith – Mrs Biggs
Anne Reid – Last Tango In Halifax
Rebecca Hall – Parade’s End
Sienna Miller – The Girl

Supporting actor
Winner: Simon Russell Beale – Henry IV Part 2 (The Hollow Crown)
Peter Capaldi – The Hour
Stephen Graham – Accused (Tracie’s Story)
Harry Lloyd – The Fear

Supporting actress
Winner: Olivia Colman – Accused (Mo’s Story)
Anastasia Hille – The Fear
Imelda Staunton – The Girl
Sarah Lancashire – Last Tango In Halifax

Entertainment programme
Winner: Alan Carr for Alan Carr: Chatty Man
Graham Norton for The Graham Norton Show
Ant and Dec for I’m a Celebrity … Get Me Out Of Here!
Sarah Millican for The Sarah Millican Show

Female performance in a comedy programme
Winner: Olivia Colman for Twenty Twelve
Jessica Hynes for Twenty Twelve
Julia Davis for Hunderby
Miranda Hart for Miranda

Male performance in a comedy programme
Winner: Steve Coogan for Welcome To The Places Of My Life
Greg Davies for Cuckoo
Hugh Bonneville for Twenty Twelve
Peter Capaldi for The Thick of It

Single drama
Winner: Murder
The Girl
Richard II (Hollow Crown)

Winner: Room At The Top
Mrs Biggs
Parade’s End

Drama series
Winner: Last Tango In Halifax
Ripper Street
Scott And Bailey

Soap and continuing drama
Winner: EastEnders
Coronation Street

Winner: Girls
The Bridge
Game Of Thrones

Factual series
Winner: Our War
24 Hours In A&E
Great Ormond Street
Make Bradford British

Specialist factual
Winner: All In The Best Possible Taste with Grayson Perry
The Plane Crash
The Plot to Bring Down Britain’s Planes
The Secret History Of Our Streets

Single documentary
Winner: 7/7: One Day In London
Baka: A Cry From The Rainforest
Lucian Freud: Painted Life
Nina Conti – A Ventriloquist’s Story: Her Master’s Voice

Winner: The Great British Bake Off
Bank of Dave
Grand Designs
Paul O’Grady: For the Love Of Dogs

Reality and constructed factual
Winner: Made In Chelsea
The Audience
I’m A Celebrity … Get Me Out Of Here!
The Young Apprentice

Current affairs
Winner: The Shame Of The Catholic Church (This World)
Britain’s Hidden Housing Crisis (Panorama Special)
The Other Side Of Jimmy Savile (Exposure)
What Killed Arafat? (Al Jazeera Investigates)

News coverage
Winner: Hillsborough – The Truth At Last (Granada Reports)
BBC News At Ten: Syria
Channel 4 News: Battle for Homs

Sport and live event
Winner: The London 2012 Paralympic Games
The London 2012 Olympics: Super Saturday
The London 2012 Olympic Opening Ceremony: Isle Of Wonder
Wimbledon 2012 – Men’s Final

Entertainment programme
Winner: The Graham Norton Show
Dynamo Magician Impossible
Have I Got News For You
A League Of Their Own

Comedy programme
Winner: The Revolution Will Be Televised
Cardinal Burns
Mr Stink
Welcome To The Places Of My Life

Winner: Twenty Twelve
The Thick Of It

Radio Times audience award (voted for by members of the public)
Winner: Game of Thrones
Call The Midwife
The Great British Bake Off
The London 2012 Olympic Opening Ceremony
Strictly Come Dancing

Special award
Clare Balding

Bafta fellowship
Michael Palin

Updated on Sunday 12 May 2013 by @TVNewsroom