National Television Awards 2013 – Live on ITV from 7.30pm

HomeEntertainmentNational Television Awards 2013 – Live on ITV from 7.30pm
National Television Awards 2013 – Live on ITV from 7.30pm

The 18th National Television Awards will be broadcast live from London’s 02 Arena this evening.

Hosted by Dermot O’Leary, the night honours some of the biggest stars of the small screen in the only TV awards ceremony voted for by the public.

This year sees the Great British Bake Off make its National Television Awards shortlist debut in the Factual Entertainment category. It will need to fight off the likes of The Apprentice, Top Gear and Paul O’Grady: For The Love Of Dogs to be in with a chance of scooping the prize.

Talent shows rivalry continues and hotting up the competition is first time shortlist nominee, The Voice UK, going up against triple NTA winner The X Factor and fellow contenders Strictly Come Dancing, Dancing On Ice and Britain’s Got Talent.

After making a return to our screens this year, the classic Absolutely Fabulous finds itself facing Benidorm, Mrs Browns Boys and The Big Bang Theory in the Situation Comedy category.

This year’s awards see the addition of the Documentary Series category, featuring the hugely popular nominees including Big Fat Gypsy Weddings, One Born Every Minute and fascinating natural history shows, Frozen Planet and Planet Earth Live.

The ever popular Serial Drama category is set to be one of the most highly contentious gongs of the evening as the battle of the soaps heats up yet again. Last year’s winner Coronation Street faces stiff competition from EastEnders, Emmerdale and Hollyoaks to be in with a chance of taking home the coveted prize.

The NTAs very own Dermot O’Leary will once again be trying his luck as he finds himself nominated for the Entertainment Presenter gong. Can Geordie duo Ant and Dec make it twelve years at the top or will fellow nominees Alan Carr and Keith Lemon take their crown?

The awards begin at 7.30pm on ITV and ITV HD

Updated on Wednesday 23 January 2013 by @TVNewsroom