‘The White Queen’ BBC’s new ten-part drama starts tonight at 9pm

HomeEntertainment‘The White Queen’ BBC’s new ten-part drama starts tonight at 9pm
‘The White Queen’ BBC’s new ten-part drama starts tonight at 9pm

The BBC’s new ten-part drama ‘The White Queen’ hits the airways this evening.

Set against the iconic backdrop of the War of the Roses, The White Queen is a adaptation of Philippa Gregory‘s vivid bestselling historical novel series The Cousin’s War.

The White Queen is the thrilling story of the women caught up in the ongoing conflict for the throne – they are some of the most ruthless players in history and will stop at nothing to support their own causes and those of the ones they love.

The series starts in 1464 where England has been at war for nine years battling over who is the rightful King of England – it is a war between two sides of the same family, The House of York and The House of Lancaster.

“One of the most ambitious series the BBC has made, this 10-part series is an epic drama that makes real history as gripping as the best fiction, featuring a cast of extraordinary new talent and some of our finest actors,” says Ben Stephenson, Controller of BBC Drama.

The first episode is on BBC One and BBC One HD from 9pm.

The cast includes: REBECCA FERGUSON (Elizabeth Woodville), MAX IRONS (Edward IV), JAMES FRAIN (Lord Warwick), DAVID OAKES (George Duke of Clarence), JULIET AUBREY (Countess of Warwick), ELEANOR TOMLINSON (Isabel Neville), FRANCES TOMELTY (Lady Beauchamp), MICHAEL MALONEY (Henry Stafford), CAROLINE GOODALL (Duchess Cecily), TOM MCKAY (Jasper Tudor), BEN LAMB (Anthony Rivers) and ROBERT PUGH (Baron Rivers). And as the series continues actors joining from episode four onwards include: VEERLE BAETENS (Margaret of Anjou), NICK HENDRIX (Edmund Beaufort), LIZZY MCINNERNY (Lady Sutcliffe), LEO BILL (Reginald Bray), RUPERT GRAVES (Lord Thomas Stanley), SHAUN DOOLEY (Sir Robert Brackenbury), FREYA MAVOR (Princess Lizzy) and ARTHUR DARVILL (Harry Stafford).

Updated on Sunday 16 June 2013 by @TVNewsroom