Where is SNI?

Discussions on news and breaking news events including, BBC News, ITV News, Sky News
Steven
Posts: 538
Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2004 7:03 pm

Post by Steven » Thu May 13, 2004 6:56 pm

I'm watching via the additional channels on Sky Digi and they are just showing News at Ten with Chris and Viv.



Is there a problem?

Newsroom
Posts: 605
Joined: Thu Apr 29, 2004 6:15 pm

Post by Newsroom » Thu May 13, 2004 6:59 pm

Yes Steven as u no i live in Dublin and after switching over to SkyNews the News at 10 came on normally with Chris andVivienne.





Where is SNI-must be a technical fault--i wonder if it will go live l8r or maybe chris and viv might explain something?

Newsroom
Posts: 605
Joined: Thu Apr 29, 2004 6:15 pm

Post by Newsroom » Thu May 13, 2004 7:01 pm

Steven if Chris explains something can u post it?



Cheers

SkyFanIreland
Posts: 57
Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2004 7:08 pm

Post by SkyFanIreland » Fri May 14, 2004 7:34 am

A power cut according to their own statement:





Statement from Sky News Ireland re. last night's 10.00pm news bulletin

A major power failure prevented the broadcast of the Sky News Ireland 10.00pm service. The situation has now been resolved and Sky News Ireland fully expects to resume service tonight.

Sky News Ireland's 7.00pm service was available on Sky News Active throughout the night.

Steven
Posts: 538
Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2004 7:03 pm

Post by Steven » Fri May 14, 2004 7:46 am

Well, what a blow that is? RTE and TV3 must be delighted.



They don't want that happening too often!

Newsroom
Posts: 605
Joined: Thu Apr 29, 2004 6:15 pm

Post by Newsroom » Fri May 14, 2004 10:19 am

Yes,however,RTE regularly get power cuts(far too often)

DonnieDarko
Posts: 26
Joined: Mon May 10, 2004 4:21 pm

Post by DonnieDarko » Fri May 14, 2004 10:26 am

Yes,however,RTE regularly get power cuts(far too often)






Newsroom. This is the second time I've noticed you making claims about RTE that are completely untrue and wildy innacurate. The first was your claim that international stories do not recieve much prominence in RTE and almost never make the line up of top stories.

Now it is this claim that RTE regularly get power cuts. So just how *regularly* do you reckon that is? maybe once a day... once a week? How often is *too often*? I have personally never (not one single time..EVER!!) witnessed the postponement of RTE news for any reason, powercut or otherwise. The station as a whole, very occasionally experiences some power problems, in the same way that you or I sitting in our homes, occasionally experience power problems, or that the BBC experience power problems. Maybe once/twice a year max.

It's really not that I have any vested interest in RTE or feel any loyalty to it, it's more the fact that you insist on misrepresenting the reality of how things are in Irish broadcasting, in forums where certain people you're addressing have to take you at your word since they don't live in this country and rely on people like you for their information.

Maybe in future you could try to put accuracy of information before dramatic headlines. Thankyou.

starman
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu May 13, 2004 7:58 am

Post by starman » Fri May 14, 2004 10:32 am

I totally agree with you DonnieDarko..... I was busy registering for the forum (Hi All, only discovered this forum the other day) when you took the words out of my mount.

Maybe Newsroom needs a new TV, because he is obviously not seeing the same view of RTE as the rest of us!!!



Don't forget a UK story on Sky News (UK) is not an international story!!

Newsroom
Posts: 605
Joined: Thu Apr 29, 2004 6:15 pm

Post by Newsroom » Fri May 14, 2004 10:39 am

I have worked inside the newsroom of RTE the last 3summers.

During last summer,they had a massive 10 power failures(3 being on RTENEWS@9 o'clock)--fine,credit where it is due,THEY may not have been there own fault but hey 10 times in three months(June,July,August) is regular enough to me.

Do u remember the time wen eileen dunne and john finnerty were presenting together 6.01 and everything went wrong?It was in papers -that WAS RTEs fault(I was a runner for that particular 6.01 news)

Newsroom
Posts: 605
Joined: Thu Apr 29, 2004 6:15 pm

Post by Newsroom » Fri May 14, 2004 10:42 am

International stories-i said theuy have good coverage but by no means great!

If you call 1 Washington correspondent and 2 European correspondents great international coverage with some1 in Iraq the odd time then fine but in my estimation Irish court cases,politics,stuff 2 do with the north takes precedence on RTE News.



Foreign stuff is packaged 75% of the time from Dublin.





PS: RTE have in the past have good international coverage ,eg,kosovo crisis was excellently covered by the noe Foreign Editor,Mags Ward.




Post Reply