RTS Television Journalism Awards 2011: The Results

Home - News - RTS Television Journalism Awards 2011: The Results

The Royal Television Society Journalism awards for 2011 are taking place tonight..

The awards, hosted by ITV News presenter Mark Austin, are taking place at the London Hilton, Park Lane.

The results are expected in from around 9:30pm.

The nominees and results (winners in bold)

Camera Operator of the Year

Darren ‘DC’ Conway, BBC News
Raul Gallego Abellan, AP Television News, APTN Global Video Wire
Stuart Webb, Channel 4 News, ITN for Channel 4 News

Current Affairs – Home

Dispatches: Lessons in Hate and Violence, Hardcash Productions for Channel 4
Panorama: Undercover Care, BBC Current Affairs for BBC One

Dispatches: How to Buy a Football Club, Vera Productions for Channel 4

Current Affairs – International

Sri Lanka’s Killing Fields, ITN for Channel 4

Bahrain: Shouting in the Dark, Al Jazeera English
This World: Spain’s Stolen Babies, BBC Current Affairs for BBC Two

Innovative News

Confronting The Looters, Sky News
Sky News for iPad, Sky News
The Stream: Bahrain, Al Jazeera English

Nations and Regions Current Affairs and News Event

Inside Out South West: Multiple Sclerosis – CCSVI, BBC South West
Week In Week Out: Cash for Qualifications, BBC Wales
Insight: The Resurrection of Brendan Smyth, UTV Insight

Nations and Regions News Programme

Calendar, ITV Yorkshire

ITV London Tonight, ITN for ITV London
Granada Reports, ITV Granada

News Channel of the Year

Al Jazeera English

BBC News Channel
Sky News

News Coverage – Home

UK Riots, Sky News

Phone Hacking, Newsnight BBC Two
The Summer Riots, ITN for Channel 4 News

News Coverage – International

Disaster in Japan, ITN for Channel 4 News
Libya, Sky News

Misrata, ITN for ITV News

News Programme of the Year

BBC News at Ten, BBC News for BBC One
Channel 4 News, ITN for Channel 4 News
Newsnight, BBC Two

Presenter of the Year

Mark Austin, ITV News, ITN for ITV News
Anna Botting, Sky News

Jon Snow, Channel 4 News, ITN for Channel 4 News

Scoop of the Year

Panorama: FIFA’s Dirty Secrets, BBC Current Affairs for BBC One
The Fall of Tripoli, Sky News
Panorama: Undercover Care, BBC Current Affairs for BBC One

Specialist Journalist of the Year

Jeremy Bowen, Middle East Editor, BBC News
Faisal Islam, Channel 4 News, ITN for Channel 4 News
Paul Mason, Newsnight, BBC Two

Television Journalist of the Year

Alex Crawford, Sky News

Alex Thomson, Channel 4 News, ITN for Channel 4 News
Richard Watson, Newsnight, BBC Two

The Independent Award

Somali Olympic Dreams, Jamal Osman for ITN/Channel 4 News

People and Power: Seeds of Change, Elizabeth C Jones and Caroline Pare for Al Jazeera English
FIFA’s Dirty Secrets, Andrew Jennings for BBC One

Young Journalist of the Year

Joe Casey, BBC Panorama, BBC Current Affairs for BBC One

Rohit Kachroo, ITV News, ITN for ITV News
Tim Lawton, Channel 4 News/True Vision, ITN/True Vision for Channel 4 News

Judges’ Award

NHK for the Japan Tsunami coverage

Lifetime Achievement

Sir David Nicholas of ITN.

Last updated: Wednesday 22 February 2012

The Royal Television Society has launched the RTS Television Journalism Awards 2018. The awards, for both news and current affairs, seek to recognise creative and excellent journalism by organisations whose broadcasts are transmitted on a UK based platform or who… Read more

Former BBC News Journalist Liz MacKean has died after suffering a stroke. She was 52. The news was announced during Friday’s BBC News at Six. She was the reporter on the expose of Sir Jimmy Savile as a paedophile which… Read more

The BBC News channel and Sky News will be relocated on the Freeview platform from Wednesday 2nd August 2017. BBC News will move from its current channel number 130 to 231, while Sky News moves from 132 to 233. BBC… Read more

The 2017 State Opening of Parliament takes place at the Palace of Westminster today (21 June). It marks the formal start of the parliamentary year and will be Theresa May’s first Queen’s Speech as Prime Minister. The speech will set… Read more